top of page
Search

Special Feature: Interview with Tiffany Ladd of YAIPaks Outreach



Hey, everyone! So since I've returned to Nashville, Tennessee I was able to catch up with some old friends. Some of those old friends I can go and visit at the War Memorial Plaza, or at the Oasis Center, the Riverfront train station, or even sit down and have a conversation with them on the Broadway strip. You might be wondering why I can't just go over and hang out at their house or apartment. The truth is, some of my friends are part of the homeless community in Nashville. There was a time when I had fallen on some hard times myself and had to learn that there is no shame in asking for a helping hand while you are dealing with the harshness of life. My friends and I have had to sleep under bridges, in shelters, and even in tents. One of the people I have formed a friendship with is an outreach worker for the YAIPaks outreach team who has helped many of the unhoused community, Tiffany Ladd. I met Tiffany three years ago when she had first started her outreach work with the YAIPaks team at a homeless feeding at the War Memorial Plaza. Tiffany's calling is to have compassion for those who are often overlooked by society. When she is not doing outreach work in the Nashville city area, she is spending time with her beloved dogs and working on her other passion, photography.


Tiffany discovered that this was her passion while attending college at Austin Peay State University. “I started serving with Sherry Nicholson, the founder of the YAIPaks Outreach. I went out with Sherry to do Cold Patrol, and from that moment my heart was for the people.” When starting to help the homeless community, Tiffany knew she had to build relationships. “Starting off I had to build relationships with the people we were serving, and once I was able to build relationships, I had the chance to find my true calling in life.” One of the biggest difficulties for any outreach worker is that they cannot save everyone. Tiffany states: “The biggest difficulty for me is realizing I cannot save everyone, and finding situations where I could not do anything. The biggest difficulty for me is when I come across children. My heart becomes wrecked every time.” When it comes to Tiffany's influences, she narrows it down to two people. “I have two major people in my life who serve in the unhoused world. Sherry Nicholson is one of them. Sherry is the founder of YAIPaks and loves without borders. Sherry has loved me beyond measure and helped me find the Lord in my life. Sherry loves without judgement on anyone. April Calvin, the director of social services at my current job, has played a huge part in helping me reach my professional goals. April took a chance on a college graduate praying for a place in the world. I prayed for months for someone to give me a chance to show them I wanted to change peoples lives in my community. April never gave up on me and I continue to serve with her.” Tiffany also likes to get creative with her outreach work to bring awareness to the homeless community. “My creative outlet is capturing photos and stories of those that I serve (with their permission of course). Writing stories has been the way I process the hard things I see daily.” During the Coronavirus pandemic, many services to the homeless either shut down or became limited, There were people who went without showers, food, and other beneficial resources that are needed. For Tiffany, it allowed her to serve at a much greater capacity. “Covid-19 allowed me to serve in a much greater capactiy. I worked seven days a week for about seven months during Covid. I chose to do that due to the fact that my friends needed a meal. The city had shut down, and many people went home. I had the blessing to be able to step up and serve daily under the Jefferson Street Bridge and surrounding areas. I have shifted from outreach to housing my friends thanks to the Rapid Rehousing Emergency Solutions COVID Grant that HUD awarded to Nashville.” When working with different people in homeless outreach, Tiffany comes across many emotional stories, but one in particular always sticks to her mind. “I have a friend who sat on a bench for over a decade in downtown Nashville. It seemed no one could get her the help she needed and deserved. I got word that there would be legal issues for her sitting on the bench daily. I was able to connect with Mental Health Cooperative's mobile crisis and the Metro Nashville Police Department's Quality of Life team. It was with the help of both of them, that we got her the help she needed. She no longer sits on a bench and I was able to find her family to let them know she was alive and was getting help. They had been searching for her for years.”


The biggest project for Tiffany has been moving the unhoused into permanent residency. “I would say getting to house my friends, and walking with them from the streets to forever housing has been a huge project but also the biggest blessing.” Tiffany also wanted to give thanks to different people she has worked with along the way and the different outreach teams in Nashville, Tennessee. “I would definitely thank Sherry and April all over again. I also owe thanks to my friend, Meredith Jaulin, the founder of Shower The People. Meredith is always a listening ear when I am having a hard day. My family allows me to be able to go out and serve daily.” Tiffany's advice for anyone joining this field and having a passion for serving the unhoused community is: “Love people, you never know what someone is going through in their life. A listening ear can truly change a life. Individuals who live outdoors are humans and deserve respect. They just want someone to see them for who they are and believe in them. As always, remember, YOU ARE IMPORTANT!” I really enjoyed learning more about Tiffany's work and it was really cool to hear about an outreach worker's experience working with the homeless community in Nashville, Tennessee. My personal experience encouraged me to take action within the city and join the Nashville Youth Action Board which advocates for youth and adult homelessness, housing, and outreach services. If you would like to learn more about YAIPaks outreach or would like to get involved, their website is https://www.yaioutreach.org/ . Happy Reading! -Melanie Lane


114 views0 comments
bottom of page